Инженерно-педагогически факултет - Сливен TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOFIA  
Sliven 59 Burgasko Shose Blvd 59| Vice-Rector:+35944 66 77 09| Admissions +35944 66 71 28|



Envisioned from the start as part of a network of universities round the country, Faculty of Engineering and Pedagogy of Sliven was established in 1983 after a series of Ministerial Decrees had entered into force (Council of Ministers Decree №8/5.22.83, BSG30/83, CMDEPS №27/22.6.83, BSG61/83). The new academic institution, located in Sliven, was founded in response to the demands of those preparing for specialised training in vocational education. The above mentioned policies and procedures empowered The Institute for Qualification Improvement of Engineering and Pedagogical Staff to exercise its rights as Faculty.
A new Ministerial Decree, (CMDecree №12/27.3.86, BSG30/86), imposing amendments and overturning previous rulings, made it possible for the establishment of a new professional field, 33, (the field of Engineering and Pedagogy that comprised Electronics and Automation, Machine Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Transport and Power Engineering) so The Institute was renamed into Centre for Training and Qualification Improvement of Engineering and Pedagogical Staff (CTQIEPS), dated September 1, 1986.
In early 1987, after several competitions being held at Technical University of Sofia, the first assistants started their first academic classes at the Centre for Training and Qualification Improvement of Engineering and Pedagogical Staff. Then, in 1988, following approval by Academic Council of Technical University of Sofia and order of the President of Higher Education Board, nine departments were created at the Center, not to mention the Information and Computing Centre, an independent structural unit. The departments were as follows: Electronics and Automation, Electrical Engineering, Machine Engineering, Transport and Power Engineering, Applied Mathematics and Informatics, Engineering Physics and Chemistry, Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Pedagogy, Ideological Sciences.
Newly-built quarters, Act 16 Protocols of 26/01/89, were handed over to the Centre. The young academic teaching staff started rapidly to increase.
1989 was the year when Research Laboratory on Physical Technology was founded, an integrated unit of the Centre with the Institute of Electronics at Bulgarian Academy of Sciences. The first Dean to be elected was Prof. Stefan Buchvarov, DSc, in March 1990. Under the leadership of Assoc. Prof. Veselin Yankov, PhD, scientific conferences were organized for the first time in 1990 and 1992, involving many scientists from home and abroad. It was in 1991 when the first ninety-three full-time students completed their four-year studies.
After 1994, The Union of Scientists in Bulgaria, Branch Sliven, grew stronger and attracted new members. The Branch was structured into seven sections and the Faculty had turned to be its natural centre. The Chairman of the Union, Assoc. Prof.Tsanko Uzunov, with his
enthusiasm and commitment, was responsible for establishing and maintaining the excellence of Faculty as the main source of scientific research in the region.
Due to a structural reform the departments were united and at present there are four large ones. They are as follows: Department of Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry; Department of Pedagogy and Management; Department of Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Automation; Department of Mechanical Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering, Thermal Engineering. In accordance with Council of Ministers Decree №86/12.03.1997, since 1998 students have started enrolling and completing Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes.
Throughout its entire history Faculty of Engineering and Pedagogy of Sliven has been run by the following outstanding Deans of Faculty:
Prof.Eng. Stoyan Stalev Maslinkov, PhD (1986 – 1989)
Prof.Eng. Stefan Nikolov Bachvarov, DSc (1989 – 1992)
Assoc.Prof.Eng. Emil Robert Ratz, PhD (1992 – 1998)
Prof.Eng. Penka Yosifova Genova, PhD (1998 – 2000)
Prof.Eng. Stanimir Mihailov Karapetkov, DSc (2000 – 2005)
Assoc.Prof.Eng. Milcho Gavazov, PhD (2005 – 2007)
Assoc.Prof.Eng. Dinko Palov, PhD (2007 – 2011)
Assoc.Prof.Eng. Koicho Atanasov, PhD (2011 – 2014)
Assoc.Prof.Eng. Milko Iordanov, PhD (2014 – present).